Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Annual NEARA Award

The Arkansas Historical Association (AHA) and the Northeast Arkansas Regional Archives (NEARA), a branch of the Arkansas History Commission and State Archives, are sending out a call for submissions for the annual NEARA Award.

Each year, professional and amateur historians are invited to submit a manuscript using research from NEARA archival records and primary source documents.  Rules require that manuscripts must be double-spaced, no more than thirty-five pages long, have consecutively numbered footnotes, and be submitted in triplicate.  Manuscripts must not be previously published or submitted elsewhere. Submissions are evaluated anonymously, so they must have only the full title at the top of the first page. Please include the title, author’s name, complete physical mailing address, telephone numbers, and e-mail address on a separate page.

The winner is decided by a three-person panel of representatives from NEARA and AHA. The winner will be announced at the annual AHA conference in April.  A $1,000 cash prize and framed certificate will be awarded to the winning manuscript article.  AHA reserves the right to not award a prize.  All submissions will also be considered for publication in the Arkansas Historical Quarterly.

Entries must be postmarked by February 1, 2016, and mailed to NEARA Award, Arkansas Historical Association, Department of History, Old Main 416, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR 72701.  For questions, contact AHA at 479-575-5884 or dludlow@uark.edu. No copies will be returned.  Extra copies will be placed with NEARA and Special Collections at the University of Arkansas Libraries, Fayetteville.  Submission of an entry assumes permission for researcher use.

This annual award was created to commemorate volunteers from the Lawrence County Historical Society who, in 1963, secured and preserved the territorial records for future researchers. The award is funded by the Eugene Sloan family, a Jonesboro lawyer born in Powhatan.