Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Accessions for July

The Baring Cross town council ledger contains notes
relating to the founding of the town. Image courtesy
of the Arkansas State Archives.
Our recent accessions include church records from Cumberland Presbyterian Church and the Unitarian Universalist Church, magazines from the late 19th century, founding documents for the town of Baring Cross in Pulaski County and other historical records and photographs. The Arkansas State Archives preserves two centuries of Arkansas history and more, ready for you to explore. Visit our digital collections or consult our research services at 

Archival Collections

Cumberland Presbyterian Church records, 1906-1949, were transferred by Carolyn Reno at Shiloh Museum of Ozark History in Springdale, Arkansas.

Margaret Ross collection, photographs and photo restorations by Little Rock photographer Edwin Ross Jr., were donated by Jennifer Charlebois of Charles Town, West Virginia. The photographs are not dated.

Unitarian Universalist Church (Little Rock, Ark.) records, 1950-2020, were donated by Nell Matthews and the Unitarian Universalist Church of Little Rock, Arkansas

National Democratic Convention ticket, 1908, and Oliver C. Atchison Civil War discharge papers, containing discharge certificate from 1865 and letter from 1904, were donated by Karen C. Dunlap of Austin, Texas.

Baring Cross (Pulaski County, Arkansas) town council ledger, 1895-1903, containing notes related to the founding of the town and town council meeting minutes, was donated by Lea Ravenel of San Ysidro, California

Harper’s Weekly, Harper’s New Monthly and The Century magazines, 22 bound volumes containing magazines from the late 19th century, various dates, were donated by Jason B. Hendren of Bentonville, Arkansas.

G.B. Hammonds letters, 1862-1864, containing three letters written by a Union soldier during his time in Arkansas, were transferred by Josh Williams at Historic Washington State Park in Washington, Arkansas.