Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Wednesday’s Wonderful Collection - New Hope Missionary Baptist Church record book [Amity, AR] and loose correspondence, MS.000816

The New Hope Missionary Baptist Church was founded on July 2, 1910 in Amity, Arkansas, by M.P. Thomas and W.F. Willis. They followed the articles of faith laid out by the Red River Association of Arkansas. J.T. Moore was a missionary in Mexico during the Mexican Revolution, and received funds from the New Hope Church in Amity. His letters are reports to the church about his missionary work and thanking them for the funds to carry on that mission.
This collection contains one record book from the New Hope Missionary Baptist Church in Amity, Arkansas, and loose pieces of correspondence from Reverend J.T. Moore in Los Esteros, Tamaulipas, Mexico. The record book contains the minutes of the church and the articles of faith. The letters are reports to the New Hope church about J.T. Moore's missionary work and his thanks for the funds to carry on that mission. They also detail how the Mexican Revolutionary War affected the people of Mexico.
·         Empty Envelope
·         To New Hope Missionary Baptist Church Amity, Arkansas, from J.T. Moore, Los Esteros, Tamaulipas, Mexico 1911 July 1
·         To New Hope Missionary Baptist Church Amity, Arkansas, from J.T. Moore, Los Esteros, Tamaulipas, Mexico 1911 February 28
·         New Hope Missionary Baptist Church records 1910-1927
·         Receipt for two dollars and fifty cents to J.T. Moore from New Hope Missionary Baptist Church, Amity, Arkansas

·         Receipt for Poll Tax for William E. Howell 1905

Friday, January 5, 2018

Annual NEARA Award Submissions

Time is running out to submit entries for the annual NEARA Award!

The Arkansas Historical Association and the Northeast Arkansas Regional Archives (NEARA), a branch of the Arkansas State Archives, are taking submissions for the annual NEARA Award for Exemplary Archival Research. The award recognizes the best original unpublished research paper using archival materials from the Northeast Arkansas Regional Archives, particularly the Lawrence County Territorial Papers (1815-1836).
Established by the family of Eugene Sloan, in partnership with the Arkansas Historical Association, the annual award will include a $1,000 cash prize. The award will be announced at the AHA’s Annual Conference Awards Banquet. Entries must use documents housed in NEARA’s collection. Deadline for entries is February 1. Details are available on the NEARA website, and on the website of the Arkansas Historical Association, 

NEARA’s collection includes county records dating to the 1815 creation of Lawrence County by the Missouri Territorial Assembly.
The original Lawrence County included most of what is now northern Arkansas and a slice of southern Missouri and has since been carved into 46 counties on both sides of the state line.
Eugene Sloan was born in Powhatan on September 15, 1892, and attended the Powhatan Male and Female Academy, which is located adjacent toNEARA in Powhatan Historic State Park. He was a successful lawyer and landowner in Jonesboro, where he died in 1981. Throughout his life, he supported preservation efforts in his hometown, including saving the Powhatan courthouse and its records.
NEARA is located at 11 Seventh Street in Powhatan, Arkansas. The research room is open Tuesdays through Saturdays, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., except for state legal holidays. For more information, call 870-878-6521 or e-mail
Located in Little Rock, the Arkansas State Archives is the official state archives, with branches in Powhatan, and Washington, Arkansas. The Arkansas Historical Association, headquartered in Fayetteville, is a membership organization that promotes the preservation, writing, publishing, teaching, and understanding of Arkansas history through the publication of the Arkansas Historical Quarterly and other activities including a respected awards program.

Wednesday, January 3, 2018

Wednesday’s Wonderful Collection - Arkansas State Medical Board records, MS.000803

The Arkansas State Medical Board was established in 1955 under Act 65, The Medical Practices Act, and Act 289 of 1957. The Board has the authority to license and regulate the practice of medicine in the state of Arkansas. In 1971, the Arkansas Osteopathic Board was abolished and the Arkansas State Medical Board assumed its licensing and regulatory duties. Since that time, the State Medical board has taken over the licensing and regulation for other health professions including Occupational Therapists, Respiratory Therapists, Physician Assistants, and Radiologist Assistants.
The Medical Board consists of fourteen members appointed by the Governor for six-year terms.
The Arkansas State Medical Board records contain medical license application records and regulatory records, as well as correspondence. The 30 cubit-foot boxes are arranged by the name of the applicant. These records were transferred to the Arkansas State Archives by the Arkansas State Medical Board in 2017.
·         Abbott to Ayers, 1898-1990 (Box 27)
·         Baker - Becton, 1903-1990 (Box 19)
·         Beebe to Bonniwell, 1903-1984 (Box 18)
·         Blair, Robert - Poe, Jr., McDonald, 1942-1999 (Box 4)
·         Booker to Bruce, 1903-1970 (Box 23)
·         Brackin to O'Reilly, 1903-1988 (Box 24)
·         Cooper, St. Cloud - Crowqey, William, 1899-1982 (Box 10)
·         Croxdale, Edward - DeGroat, Albert, 1903-1979 (Box 1)
·         DeGueurce, III, James - Dykstra, Donald, 1891-1980 (Box 6)
·         Eagles, Archie - Ewing, Robert, 1903-1983 (Box 15)
·         Faier, Samuel - Fraser, Robert, 1901-1986 (Box 2)
·         Frashner, William - Goyer, Harry, 1903-1996 (Box 3)
·         Gill, Horace - Grimmett, William, 1903-1981 (Box 9)
·         Gobbel, Fred - Muse, James, 1884-1947 (Box 8)
·         Gross, Worth - Hansn, Frank, 1903- 1984 (Box 14)
·         Hanson - Henry, 1899-1979 (Box 20)
·         Hobbs, George - Imes, Loren, 1903-1981 (Box 7)
·         Inabett, William - Katz, Harold, 1903-2008 (Box 13)
·         Kaufman, Jerome - Kirksey, Thomas, 1903-1983 1884- (Box 16)
·         Kirschner, Martin - Leidinger, Karl, Jr., 1903-1985 (Box 12)
·         Lehstoeter to Maxwell, 1903-1984 (Box 28)
·         LeJeune, III to McKnight, 1903-1985 (Box 22)
·         May to Pellar, 1903-1982 (Box 30)
·         McLain to Mohler, 1903-1985 (Box 26)
·         Moore to Norwood, 1903 to 1984 (Box 25)
·         Pence to Pool, 1903-1984 (Box 29)
·         Poole - Redmond, 1903-1981 (Box 17)
·         Pupsta, Benedict - Thompson, Lewis, 1903-1976 (Box 11)
·         Ratliff to Rodgers, 1903, 1984 (Box 21)

·         Reese, William - White, John, 1901-2002 (Box 5)