Wednesday, April 4, 2018

Application Deadline Approaching for Tom and Dolores Bruce Research Fellowship

Applications are being accepted until May 1 for the 2018 Tom and Dolores Bruce Historical Research Fellowship, a grant for scholars, teachers, graduate students, documentary producers and other researchers who are researching under-studied topics relating to Arkansas history. The award has a maximum cash value of $1,000.

The fellowship is for those who use materials held by at least two of the following institutions: the Arkansas State Archives, the CALS Butler Center for Arkansas Studies, the Historical Research Center at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the University of Arkansas at Little Rock’s Center for Arkansas History and Culture.

Recipients will be notified by June 1 and will have until June 15 to accept or decline the award. Materials that need to be submitted include:

A 250-word abstract of the proposal.
A letter describing prospects for public accessibility of the finished work.
Expressions of interest from prospective publishers, media outlets or, in the case of web-based and curriculum materials, likely users.
The applicant’s resume.
The names and contact information of three references who may be asked to write letters of support.
A projected timeline.
An estimated budget.
A preliminary list of collections to be used at the archival institutions.

Applications should be emailed to Brian Robertson at or to him by mail:

Butler Center for Arkansas Studies
Central Arkansas Library System
100 Rock Street
Little Rock, AR  72201

For information please contact Mr. Robertson at 501.320.5723 or his email.

Funded by an initial gift by Dr. Tom Bruce and matched by the Central Arkansas Library System, this award was renamed in 2017 to honor Dr. and Mrs. Bruce after Dr. Bruce’s death.

The Arkansas State Archives is a division of the Department of Arkansas Heritage and is responsible for collecting and maintaining the largest collection of historical materials on Arkansas in the world. The State Archives has two branch locations; the Northeast Arkansas Regional Archives is located in Powhatan and the Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives is located in Washington.

Other divisions of the Department of Arkansas Heritage include the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Arkansas Arts Council, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Historic Arkansas Museum.